❤️Can You Get Your License At 18 Without A Permit? ❤️ (2023)

Getting a driver’s license is considered a rite of passage in the United States. Traditionally, a person gets their driver's license after having learned how to drive with a permit.

Auto Repairs Are EXPENSIVE

Most people get their first driver's license when they are still in high school. However, If a person grows up in a large city where they are reliant on public transportation, they may wait until adulthood to get a driver's license.

Even though a person is considered an adult when they are 18, a novice driver still needs training. You can't learn to drive entirely from a book, and you shouldn't get in a car alone and drive until you know what you are doing.

❤️Can You Get Your License At 18 Without A Permit? ❤️ (2)

Any skill requires practice and driving is no exception. Many states require that you get a learner's permit before acquiring your permanent driver's license.

What are the laws for learner's permits?

A learner's permit allows a person to drive under the direct supervision of a licensed driver. In some states, there are other restrictions.

In Alaska, you must be accompanied by a driver who is over 21 and has had their license for at least one year. They must also have experience driving your particular type of vehicle.

In Alabama, you must practice driving with a parent or legal guardian for at least 30 hours before taking the driver's license test. You also must take a driver's education class before you can receive a license in the Cotton State.

There are some states that do not require permits or temporary licenses. Although the vast majority of people who actually get learner's permits may be between the ages of 15 and 18, Most states require some type of learner's permit before issuing a regular driver’s license no matter what age the person is.

In most states, you will have to get your permit and drive for several months with a licensed driver before attempting to get your permanent license.

In California, you can take the written test to obtain your permit, and if you pass, you can technically take your driving test that very same day. However, it is very unlikely that you will get an appointment to take the on the road driver's test that day. You are likely to have to come back and take it at a later time.

In the state of Illinois, a person must be enrolled in driver's education for 30 days before obtaining a learner's permit if they are between the ages of 15 and 17. If they are older than 17 years and 3 months old, they may apply for a permit without taking a driver's education class.

In almost all cases, you will have to pay a separate fee for your permit and your driver's license. You may have to pay separate fees for testing as well.

In the state of Delaware, you only have to have your permit for 10 days before taking the test to get a license.

States in Which You do not need a Learner’s Permit

There are a few states that do not require a learner's permit but have other standards.

The state of New Hampshire has no learner's permit, but when you are learning how to drive, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who's at least 25 years old, and you must be at least 15 and a 1/2 years old. You may not practice driving a commercial vehicle.

In the state of Virginia, you have a couple of options when you are learning how to drive. Provided you are 18, you can either drive with the permit under the supervision of a licensed driver or you can take a driver’s education class.

Unlike most states, in Virginia, the driver who supervises you does not always have to be over 21. They must be a licensed driver, but if they are your brother or sister or half-sibling, they only have to be over 18 to supervise you.

If you are over 16 years old and 3 months and you have had your learner's permit for over 9 months, you do not need a licensed driver with you when you drive in Virginia.

If you have a driver’s license in one state and you move, you will not have to get a learner's permit in the new state. You will have to pass the written test in the new state and you will have to be fingerprinted and photographed again. You will also have to pay a fee and they may give you a vision test.

A State by State Guide to Learner’s Permits

Different states have different ages at which a person may obtain a learner’s permit and a license. The reason for this often has to do with the lifestyle of the citizens of the state. If a lot of farming is done in a certain place, it may allow kids to drive at a younger age. Rural areas that have nominal access to public transportation often have younger driving ages.

Here is a state-by-state list of driver's permit minimum ages.

Alabama – 15-years-old

Alaska – 14-years-old

Arizona – 15.5-years-old

Arkansas – 14-years-old

(Video) Cheech and Chong greatest hits!

California – 15.5-years-old

Colorado – 15-years-old

Connecticut – 16-years-old

Delaware – 16-years-old

Florida – 15-years-old

Georgia – 15-years-old

Hawaii – 15.5-years-old

Idaho – 14.5 years-old

Illinois – 15-years-old

Indiana – 15-years-old

Iowa – 14-years-old

Kansas – 14-years-old

Kentucky – 16-years-old

Louisiana – 15-years-old

Maine – 15-years-old

Maryland – 15-years-old

Massachusetts – 16-years-old

Michigan – 14 years,8 months old

Minnesota – 15-years-old

Mississippi – 15-years-old

Missouri – 15-years-old

Montana – 14.5 years-old

Nebraska – 15-years-old

Nevada – 15.5-years-old

New Hampshire – 15.5-years-old

New Jersey – 16-years-old

New Mexico – 15-years-old

New York – 16-years-old

North Carolina – 15-years-old

(Video) Things You Do Wrong Every Day

North Dakota – 14.5 years-old

Ohio – 15.5-years-old

Oklahoma – 15.5-years-old

Oregon – 15-years-old

Pennsylvania – 16-years-old

Rhode Island – 16-years-old

South Carolina –15-years-old

South Dakota – 14-years-old

Tennessee -15-years-old

Texas – 15-years-old

Utah – 15-years-old

Vermont – 15-years-old

Virginia – 15.5-years-old

Washington – 15-years-old

Washington, D.C. – 16-years-old

West Virginia – 15-years-old

Wisconsin – 15-years-old

Wyoming – 14-years-old

Many states will only issue a provisional license to persons who are between the ages of 16 and 18 years old and issue a permanent license when the driver becomes an adult. Here is a state-by-state list of age requirements for a permanent driver's license.

Full License by State

Alabama – 17-years-old

Alaska – 16.5-years-old

Arizona – 16.5-years-old

Arkansas – 18-years-old

California – 17-years-old

Colorado – 17-years-old

Connecticut – 18-years-old

Delaware – 17-years-old

Florida – 18-years-old

Georgia – 18-years-old

(Video) My Crush Got Me Arrested!

Hawaii – 17-years-old

Idaho – 16 years-old

Illinois – 18-years-old

Indiana – 18-years-old

Iowa – 17-years-old

Kansas – 16.5-years-old

Kentucky – 17-years-old

Louisiana – 17-years-old

Maine – 16 and nine months

Maryland – 18-years-old

Massachusetts – 18-years-old

Michigan – 17-years-old

Minnesota – 17-years-old

Mississippi – 16.5-years-old

Missouri – 18-years-old

Montana – 16 years-old

Nebraska – 17-years-old

Nevada – 18-years-old

New Hampshire – 18-years-old

New Jersey – 18-years-old

New Mexico – 16.5-years-old

New York – 17-years-old with classes 18-years-old with no classes

North Carolina – 16.5-years-old

North Dakota – 16- years-old

Ohio – 18-years-old

Oklahoma – 16.5-years-old

Oregon – 17-years-old

Pennsylvania – 17-years-old with classes 18-years-old with no classes

Rhode Island – 17.5-years-old

(Video) Keemokazi and saby #short #keemokazi

South Carolina – 16.5-years-old

South Dakota – 16-years-old

Tennessee – 17-years-old

Texas – 18-years-old

Utah – 17-years-old

Vermont – 16.5-years-old

Virginia – 18-years-old

Washington – 17-years-old

Washington, D.C. – 18-years-old

West Virginia – 17-years-old

Wisconsin – 16-years-old and 9 months

Wyoming – 16-years-old and 9 months

History of Driver’s Licenses

Cars, as we know them today, appeared on the roads in the middle of the 1880s. However, no one thought of having a driver's license until about 20 years later in 1903.

The states of Missouri and Massachusetts were the very first to require drivers to be licensed. At one time you did not even have to pass a test to get a license.

The Model-T came along in 1908 and it enables many people to become car owners. Soon, Michigan also required drivers to be licensed. It was the tiny State of Rhode Island that was the first to require that drivers take an exam to obtain a license.

South Dakota did not start issuing licenses until 1954 and they did not require an exam at that time. The Mount Rushmore State did not start requiring exams until 1959.

Although California started requiring licenses in 1913, it did not Institute an exam until 1927.

Initially, car salesmen were saddled with the task of teaching people how to drive. By the 1930s many high schools in the United States offered driver’s education.

Laws Vary Quite a Bit by State

As you have probably gleaned, the age at which one can drive varies from state-to-state. Each state has its own unique laws when it comes to getting a driver's license.

A hardship license is issued to drivers who have had their driver's license suspended but need to drive to get to work or school. In most states, a person under 18 cannot get a hardship driver's license. However, licenses may be issued to underage kids in California, Georgia, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio, Tennessee, Texas, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Most states require that you get your license reissued every 4 or 8 years. Many states require that senior citizens get their licenses issued more often.

Only a few states will issue a commercial driver's license to a person who is under 21. If a person who is under 21 has a commercial driver's license in one state, they will not be able to use that license in states that require commercial drivers to be 21 or older. Hence, it's very hard to get a job as a truck driver before you are 21.

That First Car Accident

In addition to getting a driver's license being a rite of passage, the first accident you ever have will be a rite of passage. There is the reason that parents give their kids the grocery getter as a first car.

If you have a totaled car sitting in your driveway, you can sell it and get a little bit of cash to buy the next one. You will have a few options as to where to sell your junk car.

Sell Your Car Online

There are many websites on which a person can sell a used or junk car. These sites will charge you a monthly fee to list stats and pictures of your automobile. If you tried to sell your vehicle this way, you will be in competition with many people and it may take months to get an interested buyer.

The majority of people who want to buy a junk car are mechanics who will only be interested in buying a part or two. If you part your car out, you will be left with the body of your car on your property and you will have to pay to have it towed.

Selling your car online can be dangerous. Many criminals have found their victims this way,

Using Your Car as a Trade-In

When you go to buy your new car, the salesman at the dealership will be authorized to give you a trade-in allowance for your old car. They may try to give you less money than the car is actually worth. They will count on your agreeing to a lower price so you can get the deal over with and get into your new car.

It’s always a good idea to check your other options before agreeing to a trade-in allowance.

(Video) Clueless | Best Moments

Sell Your Car to Us

Cash Cars Buyers can give you a great price for your junk car. All you have to do is fill out our simple form to get started. We will ask for your contact information as well as the make, model year, VIN number, and mileage of the car.

We will call you back with an offer as soon as we get your form. If you accept our offer, we will make an appointment to come to get your car. We will pay you in cash and tow the vehicle away for free.


Do you need a permit to get a license in Texas? ›

In Texas, adults who have never had a license before are not required to have a permit or to complete a minimum amount of driving hours in order to get a driver license. However, you'll need to obtain a permit if: You want to take your driving test with a driving school instead of at the DPS.

Can I get my license at 18 without a permit in Illinois? ›

Do I need an Instruction Permit? An Illinois Instruction Permit (or learner's permit) is not required for adults 18 and older to apply for their license, but it is the only way to receive behind-the-wheel practice before taking the Illinois driving test.

Can I get my license at 18 without a permit in New Mexico? ›

How to Apply for Your Full Driver License in New Mexico. Every applicant who has never been licensed will have to take a vision, written and road test. You may apply for your full driver license at the age of 18 or at the age of 17 if you have a provisional license.

Can I get my license at 18 without a permit in NC? ›

If you have never been licensed in the US, you may apply for the adult driver license at the age of 18. You will be required to take vision, road sign recognition, knowledge and driving tests. You may first get a learner permit if you need one.

How do I get my drivers license in Texas at 18? ›

Steps to Get a Driver's License in Texas Over 18
  1. Step 1: Complete a 6-hour Adult Drivers Ed Course. ...
  2. Step 2: Complete the Impact Texas Adult Drivers Program. ...
  3. Step 3: Get a Learners Permit. ...
  4. Step 4: Pass the Driving Test and Go the DPS to Get Your License!

Can a 18 year old drive alone with a permit in Texas? ›

A provisional license will allow you to finally drive by yourself. However, you still can't drive between midnight and 5 a.m., drive with more than one passenger under 21 years old, and use a cell phone (even with a headset) except in the event of an emergency.

What do I need to get my license? ›

To apply in person at an NDLS centre you will need the following: To have successfully passed the driving test in the category that you are applying for within the last two years. Your current or most recent learner permit. If your permit has been lost, stolen or damaged you must also bring valid photo ID with you.

What age can you get your license? ›

In order to obtain a UK driving licence, you must be at least 17 years old. If you're under 17, you can apply for a provisional licence, which will allow you to start taking driving lessons. However, you won't be able to actually take the driving test or obtain a full licence until you turn 17.

What happens if you get caught driving without a permit under 18 Illinois? ›

Not eligible for any hardship permit. Anyone caught driving without a permit is ineligible to obtain a driver's license until age 18. Any person under age 18 who has unresolved traffic citations will be denied issuance of a driver's license.

How long does it take to get a permit? ›

The course requirements normally run for a total of 32 hours, but some public schools require more time. It depends on which school an individual chooses.

Can you drive to school with a permit? ›

Driving to school with a driver's permit

Now, we go back to the question: If you are under 18, can you drive to school with a driver's permit? Yes, if you are accompanied by a parent or guardian, driving instructor, or an authorized licensed adult aged 21 and older. Otherwise, no, you cannot.

What does full license mean? ›

What's the difference between a provisional licence and a full licence? With a provisional licence, you can drive with L plates and with a qualified driver present to supervise you. With a full licence, you can drive without supervision and without L plates.

Do you need drivers ed at 18 in North Carolina? ›

Driver Education is an integral part of the Graduated Licensing Process and required in North Carolina for a student to obtain a learner's permit or driver's license before the age of 18.

How much is a NC driver's license? ›

How much does it cost to get your license in NC? The NC driver's license fee is $5.50 per year. Your license can be issued for five to eight years. The learner permit or provisional license NC fee is $21.50.

How long do you have to have your permit in NC at 18? ›

NC Graduated License. Level 1 permit time has reverted to one year. Limited Learner's Permit involves parents, guardians and/or other responsible drivers in the training of young drivers.

Can I just take my drivers test at 18 Texas? ›

Once you hit 18, you will be eligible for adult drivers ed. Unfortunately, you won't be able to legally practice driving until you go to the DPS and apply for your optional adult permit. If you feel ready to take the driving exam, then you can go ahead and get your license.

Do you have to take a road test at 18 in Texas? ›

Any new drivers between the ages of 18 and 24 applying for a Texas driver license are required to complete driver education training. Once those requirements are met, then they can either apply for a learners permit Texas OR take and pass the knowledge test AND schedule the DPS road test.

Can I get my license without taking the road test in Texas? ›

Scheduling Your Appointment

All new drivers in Texas are required to pass a written exam covering road signs, driving laws, and penalties. In addition, every driver must pass a behind-the-wheel skills exam as well as a vision test before obtaining their license.

How do I get my license at 18 without a permit in Texas? ›

Once common question we are asked is can I get my license at 18 without a permit in Texas? The answer is yes! Once you are over the age of 18, you are no longer required to get a learners permit.

Can you drive around with a permit if you're over 18? ›

Even if you're over the age of 18, you cannot drive alone with only a learner's permit. Until you have your regular license, you must bring a parent, guardian, spouse, or other adult who is at least 18 years old (25 if you're under 18) and has a valid license with you when you drive.

What happens if you turn 18 with a permit in Texas? ›

Note that even though you are 18, you will still need to hold your permit for 1 year and complete 44 behind the wheel hours. If you turn 18 after getting your permit, you will need to renew it at the DPS on your birthday.

How long is a driving test? ›

You can expect to be at the test centre for about one hour. Aim to arrive at least 10 minutes early, as you'll have a bit of paperwork to do before the test starts. The actual test takes around 50 minutes, and is broken down into five parts.

Can you drive after passing your test? ›

Can I drive straight away after passing my test? Yes.

How long does it take to get a new driving licence? ›

When to expect your licence. The DVA aims to process your licence within 10 working days of receiving a completed application. This may take longer if your health or personal details have to be checked. Allow at least four weeks for your driving licence to arrive before contacting the DVA.

What is the youngest age to get a driver's license in the US? ›

The minimum age for a "full license" or "unrestricted license" varies between 16 and 18 years, depending on the state. However, new drivers have the option of obtaining a restricted license or learner's permit beforehand. The minimum age for a learner's permit is 14 to 16 years, depending on the state.

What state has the youngest driving age? ›

South Dakota, North Dakota and Montana have the lowest age to drive in the USA where a full license can be issued at just 16 years old.

What country has the youngest driving age? ›

Africa. you can obtain a learners license and legally allowed to drive with supervision at age 15.

Can I drive without license? ›

It is a criminal offence to drive without a licence. You are required to hold a full, valid driving licence unless you are a learner with a provisional licence. It is also a criminal offence to drive a vehicle other than one that you have a licence to drive.

What can you do at 18 Illinois? ›

You have the right to:
  • Vote & serve on a jury.
  • Make a will.
  • Sue in your own name.
  • Make a contract (rent an apartment, buy a car, take out a loan)
  • Get medical treatment.
  • Be completely independent from your parents.
  • Apply for credit in your own name.
  • Get married, without parental consent.

Can you drive without a permit in Illinois? ›

You must have your permit with you at all times when you are behind the wheel, whether you're with a driving instructor or a supervising driver. You must log at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice, 10 of which must occur at night.

Can I drive myself around with a permit? ›

Even if you're over the age of 18, you cannot drive alone with only a learner's permit. Until you have your regular license, you must bring a parent, guardian, spouse, or other adult who is at least 18 years old (25 if you're under 18) and has a valid license with you when you drive.

Do you need student permit for driving school? ›

You just need to enroll in a 15-hour driving course, complete all the requirements, and apply for an LTO Student Permit at the Land Transportation Office's (LTO) licensing department. Whether you are aiming for a Professional or Non Professional Driver's License, you are required to get a Student Permit first.

When did I pass my driving test? ›

For most people, it'll simply be a case of looking on the back of your photocard driving licence. Check column 10 – this should tell you the date you passed. The same column will also tell you what kind of vehicles you're qualified to drive.

What can I drive with a on my licence? ›

A. Holders of a Category A licence are allowed to drive any bike of any sized engine. The licence is only available to riders aged 24 and over, or 21 and over if you've held an A2 licence for two years. You need to have completed your compulsory basic training (CBT) and passed a theory and practical test.

What are the four types of licenses? ›

There are four types of driving license in India, which are: Learner's driving license, Permanent driving license, Commercial driving license, and International driving permit.

Can I get my license without taking the road test in North Carolina? ›

The end of the pandemic emergency in North Carolina means everyone seeking their first driver's license in the state will again need to take a road test.

Can I practice driving without a permit in NC? ›

NC Driver's Permit

Drivers 18 years and older are not required to have a North Carolina learner's permit before obtaining a license, but must have a permit before they can practice driving on the road. Likewise, teens must have a learner's permit before driving with parents or guardians.

Do you have to parallel park in a driving test in NC? ›

Yes. In the state of North Carolina you are required to parallel park for the purposes of your driver's test.

How much is the NC Driving Test? ›

It will cost $20, and in addition to other requirements, you will need to pass a knowledge test. There are several requirements for each phase of the GDL program, so check the 2023 North Carolina Driver's Handbook or NCDOT website before you apply.

What is a full license in NC? ›

Obtaining a Full License

Once the Limited Provisional License has been held for six months without any traffic infractions, drivers are eligible for a full, unrestricted license. Note, if still under 18 and the driver drops out of school, the DMV will revoke the driver license.

How long does it take to get a NC drivers license? ›

Note: NCDMV also offers an N.C. REAL ID driver license, which requires additional information and requirements. North Carolina issues learner permits from a central location and mails them to applicants within 20 days. Driver license applicants receive a Temporary Driving Certificate to use until their permit arrives.

Can you get your license in 6 months in NC? ›

Once you've obtained your NC permit for at least 6 months, logged the required hours, and had no violations in the last 6 months, you are allowed to apply for your limited NC provisional driver's license.

How do I get my full provisional license in NC? ›

A person who is at least 16 but less than 18 may obtain a full provisional license if the person: has held a limited provisional license for at least six months and has not been convicted of a motor vehicle moving violation or seatbelt infraction during the preceding six months.

Can you take the NC permit test online? ›

Students will then take a signs test and a 25 question written/online test.

Can I get my license at 17 without a permit in Texas? ›

Unfortunately, if you're under 18, you still have to hold an instructional permit for six months before you can get your Texas driver license.

Can I get my license at 16 without a permit in Texas? ›

Drivers under 18 are required to have had their learner license for at least six months before they can reach the next rung in Texas's graduated license ladder. At 15, Texans can also apply for a minor restricted license or "hardship" license if an extenuating circumstance requires them to drive on their own.

What are the requirements to get a drivers license in Texas? ›

How to Apply for a Texas Driver License
  • U.S. Citizenship or, if you are not a U.S. Citizen, evidence of lawful presence.
  • Texas Residency.
  • Identity, and.
  • Social Security Number.
  • Evidence of Texas Vehicle Registration* for each vehicle you own. Registration must be current. ...
  • Proof of Insurance* for each vehicle you own.
Sep 29, 2020

Do adults need a learner's permit in Texas? ›

Do I need a learner's permit if I'm over 18? If you are between ages 18-24, the process is similar to that of a teen. You must complete an approved driver's education course and take the class C exam. Upon completion, you may apply for a learner's permit, or go straight go taking the road test.

What is the minimum age to get a license? ›

Unrestricted licence available at 18. Driving age for low power motorcycles and tractors 16. Driving licence for cars available at 18. Driving age for cars is 17 with supervision.

How to get a driver's license? ›

What are the requirements?
  1. Must be at least 17 years old.
  2. Duly accomplished APL Form.
  3. One photocopy and original LTO-accredited medical certificate.
  4. Original and one photocopy of Practical Driving Course (PDC)
  5. Original valid student permit.
  6. For minors, a notarized parental or guardian's consent with a valid government ID.
Jun 21, 2022

What can you do at 18 in Texas? ›

Some of the rights you have after age 18 that you did not have before are as follows:
  • To sue in court in your own name.
  • To make a contract (rent an apartment, buy a car, and/or take out a loan) in your own name.
  • To obtain medical treatment without parental consent.
  • To be completely independent from parental control.

Can you get your license without drivers ed in Texas? ›

Do I have to take a course? Yes, Texas law requires persons 18-25 who wish to obtain a driver's license to successfully complete a driver education course.

What is the minimum age to get a license Texas? ›

You can begin the classroom phase of a driver education course at 14 years of age, but you cannot apply for a learner license until you are at least 15 years of age.

Can you get a permit at 19 in Texas? ›

Any new drivers between the ages of 18 and 24 applying for a Texas driver license are required to complete driver education training. Once those requirements are met, then they can either apply for a learners permit Texas OR take and pass the knowledge test AND schedule the DPS road test.

Can I get my permit without my parents in Texas? ›

Texas Learners Permit

In order to apply for a learners permit, individuals must: Be at least 15 years old. Have consent from a parent or legal guardian. Completed the required classroom portion of the Texas parent taught drivers ed course.


1. Asking My CRUSH to Prom with GIANT LUCKY CHARMS BOX!
2. General Knowledge 1 DVD 05 16 11
(Leonard Valdez)
3. I text my Crush for the first time!
(Bryton Myler)
4. EVIL MAID Mistreats The Owner, What Happens Is Shocking | Dhar Mann
(Dhar Mann)
5. Lexi's DREAM CAR... Happy 16th Birthday! (FV Family HUGE Surprise Vlog)
6. SML Movie: Jeffy's Hit And Run!
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Fredrick Kertzmann

Last Updated: 05/31/2023

Views: 5677

Rating: 4.6 / 5 (66 voted)

Reviews: 81% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Fredrick Kertzmann

Birthday: 2000-04-29

Address: Apt. 203 613 Huels Gateway, Ralphtown, LA 40204

Phone: +2135150832870

Job: Regional Design Producer

Hobby: Nordic skating, Lacemaking, Mountain biking, Rowing, Gardening, Water sports, role-playing games

Introduction: My name is Fredrick Kertzmann, I am a gleaming, encouraging, inexpensive, thankful, tender, quaint, precious person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.